Follow

What are the different copy options available in Claro? (for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses)

One of the core features of Claro is the ability to re-use courses and their content intelligently saving you precious time and productivity.

Comparison of Claro's Copy Options for Pages, Learning Objects, and Courses:

Feature Action performed Result
Pages    
Duplicate Current Page Select the Page from the Course panel > Home tab > Copy > Duplicate Current Page. Creates a new copy of the original page or question and places it at the bottom of the LO it was copied from. This new page is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either one will not affect the other. 

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.
Copy From Another Course Select the Learning Objects where you want the new page to go > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy a Page > Select the Page > Duplicate Page. Creates a new copy of the original page or question and places it at the bottom of the LO selected in the course you are authoring. This new page is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either one will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Learning Objects    
Duplicate Open the course for which you want to add the LO > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy an LO > Select the LO > Copy Learning Object > Duplicate. Creates a new copy of the original Learning Object and all its pages and places it at the bottom of the module selected in the course you are authoring. A Duplicated Learning Object is a new copy of the LO, its content and question pages, meaning any changes made to LO will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Share Open the course for which you want to add the LO > Home tab > Copy > Copy From Another Course > Select the course from which you want to copy an LO > Select the LO > Copy Learning Object > Share. Shares the Learning Object and all its pages at the bottom of the module selected in the course you are authoring. A Shared Learning Object is NOT a new copy, meaning any changes made to it, or its content and question pages, will appear in all the courses that share the LO.

Note: media assets, resources, references and glossaries ARE shared. LO properties are NOT shared.

Shared pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Courses    
Duplicate Browse Course List > Select the course you want to copy > Actions > Duplicate. Creates a new copy of the original course with all of its LOs and pages. The new course is NOT shared with the original, meaning any changes made to either course's LOs or pages will not affect the other.

Note: media assets, resources, references, and glossaries ARE shared.

Duplicated pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.
Share Browse Course List > Select the course you want to copy > Actions > Share. Sharing a course creates a new copy of the selected course. This new copy now shares the same Learning Objects as the original course. This means if you make a change to a page in one of the shared Learning Objects, the change is reflected in the other course. If you delete a page from a shared Learning Object in one course, it is deleted in the other course. However, if you delete an entire Learning Object from one course, it is NOT deleted in the other course. All media assets, resources, references, and glossaries are also shared.

Note: If you create a new LO in a shared course, it will not appear in the original course.

Shared pages from another course will not retain any Course Styles that may have been applied to the original course unless you also copy over the Course Style using the Style Manager.

 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments