Controls over editing a page help ensure content is secure while supporting collaboration

Multiple authors can work in the same Project in dominKnow | ONE.

The collaborative process is a controlled one. Pages can only be edited by one author at a time, by having it in Edit mode.

Understanding Who Is Editing a Page

When you add a page, you automatically have it in Edit mode.
In the Project Outline, the pages you are working on will show a checkmark (1).

Pages that are being edited by another author will show the author’s avatar (2).

Pages with no checkmark or avatar (3) are currently not being edited by any author.

Accessing a Page Another Author has in Edit Mode

When you select a Page that another author has in Edit mode, the Stage will show the page as a Current Page Preview. You can view the page and even select interactive elements on it.

If you need to work on a Page that another author has in Edit mode you can select the Edit Page button above the Page.

You will see one of two messages:

  • This page is currently being edited by another user, or you do not have permission to edit it.
    • This indicates that the author who has the page in Edit mode is currently logged in, and that means you can’t take over editing the page. In this case you can communicate with the other author to request they Commit the page. To do this, you can select the author's avatar beside the Page. On the panel that opens, select Request Access.

You can select the author's avatar beside the Page. On the panel that opens, select Request Access.

  • This page is being edited by another user who is not currently logged in. To continue, click Force Edit.
    • This indicates that the author who has the page in Edit mode is currently not logged in. You can take over editing the page by selecting the Force Edit button. NOTE: When an author logs out, there is a 20-minute timer before this message can appear, in case the author is only temporarily logging out.
  0     0

Similar Projects

Questions  ( 0 )